Montebuoni is an ancient village born where the Strada Romana pass the homonymous hillock, on Buondelmonti castle’s feet, which the Florentines destroyed in 1135 because it hindered their expansionistic aims.
The presence of the Spedale of San Giuliano, kept by Vallombrosa monks of Montescalari , made of it an almost fixed stop for pilgrims and poor or ill wayfarers already before year One thousand, while for those whom had the possibility and maybe wanted also a little entertainment, as merchants, there was the Tavern of Campana.
But when, between the end of XVI and the beginning of the XVII century, some improvements to Strada Romana were introduced to make it suitable for vehicles, and the uncomfortable way between Tavarnuzze and Scopeti’s bridge was substituted by a by-pass on the right shore of Greve, the village lost its importance as place of passage and rest stop and was almost forgotten until the beginning of the XVIII century, when in the north-western hillock slope were opened some pietra serena caves, now dismissed, that brought it back to its fame.
Today, the houses appear without their picturesque aspect, conserved until last century 60’s, and only the building of the ancient Spedale with the nearby chapel and the complex of the church of St. Peter, erected by Buondelmonti, to whose lineage belonged many headmasters , are distinguishable. Nowadays, it presents itself in the forms acquired between XVII and XVIII century, also if it existed already in 1061: with an only nave, its inside is characterized by a huge presbytery frescoed, in the vault, with St. Peter in glory [3, 4] and, in the side lunettes, with episodes from his life. Other frescos, representing the twelve Apostles inside white and gold stucco medallions, decorate the walls of the adjoining 18th century oratory of the Company of the SS. Trinity documented since XV century.